About Siddha

About Siddha

Nowadays our ancestor’s Traditional medicine is regaining its lost glory throughout the world. The World Health Organization has emphasized that without the active participation of traditional medicine the goal of “Health for all by 21st century” cannot be achieved.

The Siddha system of Medicine is a pioneering ancient medical system originated from Tamil speaking areas; it is the foremost of all other medical systems in the world. Its origin goes back to B.C 10,000 to B.C 4,000. As per the textual and archeological evidences which indicate the remote antiquity of the Dravidian civilization of the erstwhile submerged land Kumarikandam, that is the Lemuria continent situated in the Indian Ocean. The uniqueness of Siddha System is combating diseases and also in maintaining its physical, mental and moral health.

Lord Shiva is believed to be the Father of Siddha Medicine. Then he teaches it to his spouse Parvathi then she teaches to Nandi followed by Agasthiyar, and Agasthiyar teaches it to all Siddhars. There were 18 important Siddhars. They are Agasthiyar, Kamalamuni, Thirumoolar, Kuthambai, Korakkar, Thanvandri, Konganar, Sattamuni, Vanmeegar, Ramadevar, Nandidevar, Edaikkadar, Machamuni, Karuvoorar, Bogar, Pambatti Siddhar, Sundarandandar, and Patanjali.

The word Siddha comes from the word Siddhi which focused to Ashtamahasiddhi, i.e. the eight supernatural powers. Those who attained or achieved the above said powers are known as Siddhars. Hence it is called as Siddha medicine.

Siddha system of medicine treats both body and soul and cures the root cause of the disease i.e., complete cure is procured.

This system deals with the concept of immortality and salvation in this life. Siddhars described 96 principles as the constituents of Human Being. They are five Avathaigal, five Aatharangal, three Mandalam, three Malam, three Thodam, three Edanai, three Gunam, eight Ragam, ten Naadi, ten Vaayu, four Anthakaranam, one Arivu, five Kanmenthiriyangal, five Kanmenthiriya Thanmaathiraigal, five Porigal, five Pulangal, five Bootham, five Aasayam, five Kosam, and two Vinaigal. They maintain the Physical, Physiological, Mental and Intellectual components of a person.

According to the Siddha medicine, various psychological and physiological functions of the body are maintained by the combination of seven elements called as Ealu Udal Kattugal: Saram (plasma), Cheneer (blood), Oon (muscle), Kozhuppu (fatty tissue) , Elumbu (bone), Elumbu majjai (bone marrow) , and Sukkilam / Suronitham (semen / ovam) .

The physiological components of the human beings are classified as Vaadham ( air and space ), Pitham ( fire ) and Kabam( earth and water ). When the normal equilibrium (ratio of 1: ½ : ¼ ) of the three humors Vaadham, Pittham and Kabam is disturbed, then the disease is manifested.

Miginum kuraiyinum noi seyyum noolor
vali mudhala enniya moondru                
- Thiruvalluvar

According to the siddha system, diet and lifestyle play a major role, not only in health but also in curing diseases. This concept is termed as Pathiyam and Apathiyam which is essentially a list of do's and don'ts.

The basic concept of Siddha system of medicine is Unavea Marunthu, Mrunthea Unavu i.e. Food itself is medicine and medicine itself is food.

In diagnosis, examination of eight things is made, which is commonly known as "Enn Vakaith Thervugal". These are: Naa, Niram, mozhli, Vzhli, Sparisam, Malam, Moothiram, and Naadi.

Noi naadi noi mudhal naadi athu thanikkum
vaai naadi vayppa seyal                              
- Thiruvalluvar

However, the Siddha Physician now a day’s also accepts the modern diagnostic methods for the purpose of diagnosis.

Siddha treatment is classified into three categories: Devamaruthuvum (Divine method), Manuda maruthuvum (rational method), and Asura maruthuvum (surgical method).

In Devamaruthuvum medicines like Mezlugu, Pathangam, Parpam, Sunnam, Saththu, Kalangu, Kulikai, Kattu, Urukku, Karpam, Theeneer, Chenthooram, Guru, and kuligai are used.

In the Manuda maruthuvum medicines like Surasam, Theeneer, Saaru, Kudineer, Karkkam, Kuzlambu, Choornam, Adai, Kalimbu, Vadagam, Pittu, Elagam, Vennai, Nei, Manapaagu, Vedhu, Ennai, Rasayanam, Pakkuvam, Orttadam, Poochu, Mathirai, Kazlngu, Thennooral, Uruppu kattuthal, Pottanam, Thokkanam, Podi thimiral, Nasiyam, Kalikkam, Nasikaparanam, Mai, and Muppu are used.

In Asura maruthuvum Oothal, Suttigai, Salagai, Neer, Varthi, Silai, Kalimbu, Urinjal, Kali, Pasai, Murichal, Kaaram, Keeral, Attai, Podi, Peechu, Aruvai, Kombu Kattal, and Kuruthi vangal are used.

The drugs used in siddha medicine were classified on the basis of five properties: suvai (taste), gunam (character), veeriyam (potency), pirivu (class) and mahimai (action), and classified into three groups: Thaavaram (herbal product), Thaathu (inorganic substances), and Jangamam (animal products).

According to their mode of administration, the siddha medicines could be categorized into two classes. Internal medicine was used through the oral route and further classified into 32 categories based on their form, methods of preparation, shelf-life, etc. External medicine includes drugs applied externally, and procedures like Thokkanam. It also classified into 32 categories.

Siddha medicine also includes Alchemy, Yoga, Kayakalpa, Philosophy, Astronomy, Astrology, Varma, etc., and its main aim is - Attainment of precision.